San Francisco is My Oyster – A Hunt for the City’s Best!

This past weekend my college friends and I took advantage of a particular number of years (hint: too many) since we graduated to reunite on the west coast. We spent a few nights in San Francisco and then drove north to Sonoma to enjoy wine, food and each other.

I went out to San Fran a night early to spend time with one of my high school best friends and had a day to myself while she was at work. Never one to waste time in a new place when there’s an adventure to be had, I planned ahead of time to find… and eat..the best oysters the city had to offer.

My first stop was Swan Oyster Depot  in Nob Hill. I arrived close to noon on a beautiful sunny Thursday and apparently I wasn’t the only one craving oysters and seafood because there was a line out the door and I ended up waiting 45 minutes before being seated at one of their 20 counter seats (these being the restaurant’s only seats). I ordered half a dozen mixed oysters and a glass of Chardonnay while  watching the guys behind the counter whip up a host of other appetizing meals.

IMG_2073

IMG_4100

IMG_2075

After Swan, I traipsed down to the Ferry Building and snagged a seat at the bar at Hog Island Oyster Co. Their menu offered several varieties of grilled oysters such as: Rockefeller, Chipotle Bourbon, Bagna Cauda and Worcestershire. I chose the Chipotle Bourbon and they did not disappoint.

IMG_4118IMG_2078

IMG_2077
This cocktail looked amazing while the bartender was mixing it but I was already feeling the effects of jet lag and needing a nap – next time!

My last stop was Waterbar on the Embarcadero. Waterbar takes the win for best ambiance – oysters with a view! They had fried oysters on the menu which I was tempted to order but I was also feeling a bit full at this point so I opted for 3 of their daily oysters and a coffee. I’d love to come back here on a date – it looked very romantic!

IMG_4134

IMG_4126

IMG_2081

Though each of these places was very different and all the oysters were delicious and fresh, the grilled ones from Hog Island took the win. I’ll definitely be back to try their other combinations very soon. If you have any suggestions for where I should go when I return, please let me know in the comments! I’ll also be doing a similar hunt #HomeInTheHub very soon so stay tuned (and let me know if you’d like to join!)…

 

 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “San Francisco is My Oyster – A Hunt for the City’s Best!

Leave a Reply

